truck spring stools

truck spring stools

I’ve always been fascinated by texture. I love the way things deteriorate over time. These stools made from old truck springs are a prime example of repurposing. They look much better in a modern kitchen than on a hillside in the rural mid west among refrigerators and couches.

Surpassing the merit of keeping them out of the landfill, these recycled stools remind us of a time when not everything was made of plastic. They are heavy. They ground us. They make us wonder about every scratch and speck of rust. They have a history and make us believe that maybe we will too.

Now, I’m not saying I don’t have a simulatenous love for the modern, clean, Marius stool from Ikea. Because I do. Because sometimes we want to move forward. And sometimes we want to look back.

