marbled crayon shapes

marbled crayon shapes

http://www.dailydanny.com/?p=173

I came across this blog post the other day and thought it was a cute idea, especially with Valentine’s day on its way, to make fun little gifts on the cheap. He used butterflies, but I went with more geometric shapes.

Here’s what you do: take any broken crayons you may have (or, in my case, crayons that I bought because they were 12 cents on back-to-school sale but never used) and melt them on a cookie sheet in a 350 degree oven for 5-10 minutes.  Be selective about colors, or not. It will all run together for a fun marble look. Then ,after it’s cooled enough to be semi-solid (stick it in the freezer if you’re impatient), cut into it with cookie cutters! I have some mini shapes that worked quite well.

Ok so this might be kiiiind of juvenile, but it’s super fun and easy and cheap. Plus you can personalize it with any shape/colors you like. So go make some for the art lover in your life!

