curtain shirt

curtain shirt

In an attempt to use up my rapidly growing pile of fabric scraps, I finally paid some attention to a pair of old linen/lace curtains my mom sent me awhile back in a box of garage sale finds. I am a lace lover, but not necessarily in decor. I prefer to keep my window dressings a little more modern. So out came the scissors! My original intention was to make some napkins out of them, but the proportions weren’t quite right. Then I got some inspiration, since I’ve had this shirt on the brain for awhile. Unfortunately, the real one is more than I’d like to pay for a shirt. But with it’s natural fabrics, neutral color palette, and of course, lace, I decided to make my own version out of the curtains. It was suprisingly simple. I just wrapped the curtain around me, penciled out the size, cut, hemmed, and made some button holes to attach it back together into a tubular bodice. I added some straps made from the scraps. Cost: free (maybe $2 if you have to make a trip to the thrift store); time investment: 30-45 minutes.

Just in time for the spring weather today! I can spend all the money I saved on treats from the ice cream truck that is already rolling by. Although then I might have to make a new, bigger, shirt….

