headband

headband

We already know I’m the world’s laziest crafter. And let’s ignore, for the time being, my world’s largest forehead. See the orange headband, people? I’ve spotted these simple braided headbands around, and kind of liked the look. Not enough to pay for it though. I’m not a huge accessory fan.

So when I cut up a jersey dress the other day (it became a skirt), I wanted to find a way to keep the scrap fabric out of the trash can. It was orange! I can’t throw away something that’s my favorite color, even if it does make a yucky dress. I started to make a cat toy out of strips of the jersey (she forced me into it). Jersey is nice because even jagged edges curl up and smooth out when you stretch it. I tied a few of these strips together, and started to braid it a la 4th grade friendship bracelet. Then I noticed it was still nice and stretchy so I tied it together. And put it on my head. Naturally. Yes, this is how my thought process works. Then I looked in the mirror and said, now that doesn’t look half bad. It would also make a cute bookmark or wrapping for a package. And it’s not in the landfill. And it took 2 minutes. Success!

